10 Clubs with the Highest Number of Ballon d’Or Victories

Can you list clubs with the highest number of Ballon dOr? Have you ever wondered which football clubs have clinched the most Ballon d’Or victories? We’ve got the answer for you right here. This isn’t about the individual players with Ballon d’Or awards; it’s about the clubs that have had the highest number of these prestigious victories.

Clubs with the highest number of Ballon dOr

Get ready to be surprised as we count down the top 10 clubs with the most Ballon d’Or wins.

1. Inter Miami and Others

Ranked at number 10 are several clubs, each having clinched a single Ballon d’Or victory. Among these esteemed clubs are Ajax, Blackpool, Liverpool, Marseille, Dukla Prague, Dynamo Moscow, Ferencvaros, Borussia Monchengladbach, Benfica, PSG, and notably, Inter Miami. Notably, Inter Miami stands out as the pioneer non-European club to produce a Ballon d’Or winner. It’s worth mentioning that Lionel Messi’s contributions account for both PSG and Inter Miami securing their places on this list.

2. Hamburger SV

Following closely at the 9th spot is Hamburger SV, a German club that proudly holds two Ballon d’Or victories. Both of these prestigious awards were achieved by the English forward Kevin Keegan, who showcased his talent during his three-year tenure with the club from 1977 to 1980.

3. Inter Milan

Inter Milan has also secured two Ballon d’Or triumphs. Their achievements occurred in the 1990s, with Lothar Mathaus earning the award in 1990, followed by Ronaldo Nazario’s victory in 1997, coinciding with his arrival at the club. Yet, despite their success, Inter Milan doesn’t claim the highest number of Ballon d’Or wins among Italian clubs.

4. Dynamo Kyiv

Another club with 2 Ballon d’Or victories is Dynamo Kyiv! The Ukrainian club has produced two Ballon d’Or winners: Oleg Blokhin in 1975 and Igor Belanov in 1986.

5. Manchester United

Ranked at number 6 is Manchester United, boasting 4 Ballon d’Or victories in their legacy. The widely known win belongs to Cristiano Ronaldo, who claimed the prestigious award during his tenure at Man United in 2008. However, can you recall the other three Man United players who secured the Ballon d’Or? Show your football knowledge by sharing your answers in the comments section.

6. Bayern Munich

Throughout their history, Bayern Munich has secured 5 Ballon d’Or victories. Gerd Muller claimed the honor in 1970, followed by Franz Beckenbauer, who triumphed in both 1972 and 1976. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge extended their successes with wins in 1980 and 1981. Notably, the count could have reached 6 with Robert Lewandowski in 2020, but due to France Football’s decision not to present the award that year, it remained an opportunity missed for the club. Tough luck!

7. AC Milan

AC Milan claims the fourth spot, marking their status as one of the most triumphed clubs in the history of European football. Their enduring prominence in the sport isn’t surprising, considering they’ve produced Ballon d’Or champions across 8 different years, a remarkable feat!

The legacy includes Gianni Rivera’s victory in 1969, Ruud Gullit’s win in 1987, and the remarkable success of Marco van Basten, who clinched the title in ’88, ’89, and ’92. Notably, George Weah made history in 1995 by becoming the first non-European to receive the award, marking the last Ballon d’Or victory for Milan in the ’90s.

The club experienced a resurgence nine years later, with Andriy Shevchenko claiming the Golden Ball. Later, three years after Shevchenko’s win, Kaka’s triumph seemed to usher in the era that set the stage for Messi and Ronaldo’s dominance in the Ballon d’Or award ceremonies.

8. Juventus

Juventus, the arch-rivals of Milan, also lay claim to 8 Ballon d’Or victories. Their accolades include Omar Sivori’s win in 1961 and Paolo Rossi’s triumph in 1982. Subsequently, the torch was passed to Michel Platini, who embarked on an extraordinary three-year streak, securing the Ballon d’Or in ’83, ’84, and ’85. He became the first player to achieve this feat consecutively, while Juventus became the first club to produce Ballon d’Or winners in four successive years, a record later matched by Barcelona.

In the 1990s, Juventus returned to claim the award. Roberto Baggio was honored in 1993, followed by Zinedine Zidane, who clinched the prize in 1998 after an outstanding World Cup performance.

The renowned club did not slow down in the 21st century, introducing an unexpected winner in 2003, Pavel Nedved.

9. Real Madrid 

Presently, at the top are two clubs, Real Madrid and Barcelona, both sharing 12 Ballon d’Or triumphs. Famously, Cristiano Ronaldo accounts for 4 out of Real Madrid’s 12 wins. Additionally, Luka Modric seized the award in 2018, and Karim Benzema followed suit with a victory in 2022.

Before these celebrated players, there was Alfredo di Stefano, who became the initial Real Madrid player to claim the Ballon d’Or, achieving the honor in 1957 and 1959. Remarkably, he also secured the unique Super Ballon d’Or in 1989, remaining the sole recipient of that prestigious award to date.

During the late 1950s, Raymond Kopa’s win in 1958 meant a three-year streak for Real Madrid players securing the Ballon d’Or, spanning from 1957 to 1959.

In later years, Fabio Cannavaro triumphed in 2006 following a successful World Cup campaign with Italy, and Ronaldo Nazario claimed the title in 2002, also after an impressive World Cup performance. However, the 2000 victory of Luis Figo as a Real Madrid player remains a point of contention, as he was arguably recognized for his accomplishments from the previous season while playing for Barcelona, a result that continues to sting Barcelona fans.

10. Barcelona

Barcelona maintains their joint-leading position. Lionel Messi contributes to six of those prestigious awards, aiding Barcelona in matching Juventus’ record for the club with the most consecutive Ballon d’Or winners.

clubs with the highest number of Ballon dOr

Apart from Messi, other Barcelona players who have claimed the Ballon d’Or include Luis Suarez—no, not the Uruguayan, but a Spanish player who earned the honor in 1960 as the first Barcelona player to secure the award.

Following this, Johan Cruyff seized the title in 1973 and 1974, Hristo Stoichkov in 1994, Rivaldo in 1999, and Ronaldinho in 2005, further adding to Barcelona’s decorated history.

Additionally, Barcelona proudly stands as the leading producer of Ballon d’Or Féminin winners. Since its inception in 2018, Barcelona has triumphed on three occasions. Notably, Alexia Putellas claimed the award in 2021 and 2022, and Aitana Bonmati in 2023, a remarkable achievement for the club to celebrate.

So, how many Ballon d’Or wins can your favorite team boast of? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section!

Read Also – Top 10 Footballers Who Smoke in Real Life

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit Shop
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors